top of page

An Introduction: How Coachella Valley Music Therapy Got Its Start!

Hello fellow Coachella Valley natives! It has been a wonderful couple of weeks getting to know people in the valley area. I thought it would be only fare to allow you to get to know me also! So for my first blog post I thought I would share the story about my business with all of you!

I lived in the Coachella Valley back in May 2011 to December 2011 for my internship at Oasis Rehabilitation center. I fell in love with the valley and wanted to stay. I also noticed the need for Music Therapy in the valley. The only one here at the time was my internship director who soon after moved to San Diego. But due to the lack of work I decided to return to the midwest and pursue my masters degree in St. Louis at Maryville University. For four years I kept pursuing different options on how to return to the desert but nothing had seemed to work out.

In August of 2014 I was approached on Facebook by a Coachella Valley resident wanting Music Therapy services for his mother. After doing some research he noticed that there were no Board Certified Music Therapists in the valley. I decided to market by cold calling from St. Louis and then flew out to the desert to see his mother and a few other clients who had expressed interest. As you can see the trip went well and in October 2014 Coachella Valley Music Therapy was established!

For the next 7 months I would fly out once a month to see new and existing clients. Over the course of those 7 months people continued to express their growing interest for the need of Music Therapy in the valley. In May of 2015 I decided it was time to commit to making the full time move here. So on July 5th 2015 I packed up my apartment, said goodbye to my family and friends and moved to California!

I have been here full time for about a month now and have been trying to meet as many people as possible! I want to change lives using music with as many people in the Coachella Valley area as I can!

Next blog: Get To Know The Owner!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page